The team

The team


Chris Chinaka: Seniorjournalist

Faith Zaba: Zimbabwe Independent Newspaper Deputy Editor

David Maruziva: Senior  journalist



Chairperson: Kumbirai Mafunda (Programmes Officer – Communication at the Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights)

Vice Chairperson: Kelvin Jakachira (Group Head of News and Current Affairs AB Communications)

Treasurer: Martha Mashonganyika (Southern African Parliamentary Support Trust – Finance Manager)

Committee member: Columbus Sebastian Mavhunga (Freelance journalist)

Committee member: Ruth Butaumocho (Senior journalist – The Herald Newspaper)

Ex-Officio: Nhlanhla Ngwenya (National Director)



National Director: Nhlanhla Ngwenya

The National Director is the Head of Secretariat. He is responsible for overseeing administration and programmes implementation in line with the organisation’s strategic plan. Other key duties include staff supervision, fundraising, establishing and maintaining relationships with various organisations, including government,  to strategically enhance MISA Zimbabwe’s Mission. He is also the organisation’s primary spokesperson in addition to undertaking  other duties as assigned by the Board, to which he reports.

Finance & Administration Manager: Ophias Kimbini

Develops and implements accounting and management systems for MISA Zimbabwe for effective management of the organisation’s financial and human resources  and efficient delivery of support to programme implementation.

Programmes Co-ordinator: Nyasha Nyakunu

Coordinates the planning and implementation of approved programmes and budgets in line with the vision of MISA Zimbabwe. Supervises the implementation of activities by all programme officers.

Administration Officer: Annie Musodza

Attends to MISA Zimbabwe administrative issues in consultation with the Finance and Administration Manager. She also provides administrative support to MISA Zimbabwe programmes to ensure effective execution of its work.

Programmes Officer [Legal, Monitoring & Evaluation]: Farai Nhende

Implements programmes monitoring, evaluation and learning (M&E) hand in glove with  respective programmes officers. He is also in charge with developing and delivering  strategic legal interventions under the Media Defence Fund in the promotion and protection of freedom of expression and the right to information in Zimbabwe.

Programmes Officer [Advocacy]: Tabani Moyo

Implements the organisation’s advocacy strategy through reaching out to its members,policy maker  and key stakeholders. He is also in charge of building  membership base of MISA Zimbabwe and ensuring that the interests of members are represented in all areas of the organisation  through the development of consistent, innovative and ongoing programming which ensures full participation of members at all levels within the Chapter. vision.

Programmes Officer [Broadcasting & ICTs]: Koliwe Majama

Tasked with strengthening MISA Zimbabwe programming by engaging policy makers in the Broadcasting and the Information Communications Technologies (ICT) sectors to foster the exercise and enjoyment of  freedom of expression and the right to information.