Our people

Our People

The Secretariat constitutes the following;

National Director – Nhlanhla Ngwenya

Finance & Administration Manager – Ophias Kimbini

Develops and implements accounting and management systems for MISA Zimbabwe for effective management of the financial and human resources of the organisation and delivery of efficient support to programme implementation.

Programmes Coordinator – Nyasha Nyakunu

Coordinates the planning and implementation of approved programmes and budgets in line with the vision of MISA Zimbabwe. Supervises the implementation of activities by all programme officers and produces draft narrative reports for the Director to review and submit to funding partners.

Administration Officer- Annie Musodza

Attends to MISA Zimbabwe administrative issues in consultation with the Finance and Administration Manager. Provide administrative support to MISA Zimbabwe programmes to ensure effective execution of its work.

Programmes Officer -Monitoring & Evaluation – Farai Nhende

Implements Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning (M&E) and maintains a system focusing on data collection, analysis and reporting with the respective programmes officers.

Programmes Officer – Advocacy- Tabani Moyo

To implement the advocacy strategy of MISA Zimbabwe so that it reaches out to its members and stakeholders. Build up the membership base of MISA Zimbabwe and ensure the interests of members are represented in all areas of MISA Zimbabwe’s work through the development of consistent, innovative and on going programming which ensures full participation of members at all levels within the Chapter. Engage policy makers on issues to do with MISA -Zimbabwe’s vision.

Programmes Officer – Legal – Jacqueline Chikakano

Develops and delivers strategic legal interventions in the promotion and protection of freedom of expression and the right to information in Zimbabwe.

Programmes Officer Broadcasting & ICTs – Koliwe Majama

To strengthen MISA Zimbabwe programme by engaging policy makers in the Broadcasting and ICT sectors for promotion of freedom of expression and the right to information.


National Governing Council

MISA-Zimbabwe’s policy framework is formulated and overseen by its National Governing Council (NGC), commonly referred to as the board. The board has five (5) members elected by the membership at an Annual General Meeting. Their tenure of office is three years, after which a new board is elected. Currently the following sit on the board:

Chairperson: Kumbirai Mafunda (Programmes Officer – Communication at the Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights)

Vice Chairperson : Lifaqane Nare (Zimbisa – Media Component Manager and media consultant)

Treasurer: Martha Mashonganyika (Southern African Parliamentary Support Trust – Finance Manager)

Committee member: Columbus Sebastian Mavhunga (Freelance journalist)

Committee member: Kelvin Jakachira (Editor and Producer ZiFM)

Ex-Officio: Nhlanhla Ngwenya (National Director)

Above the board is the MISA-Zimbabwe Trust. Three individuals constitute the Trust. These are:

Chris Chinaka: Senior retired journalist

Faith Zaba: Zimbabwe Independent News Editor

David Maruziva: Senior retired journalist